You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Souths Logan celebrate their high achievers

The Souths Logan Magpies held their annual Presentation night late last month to recognise the effort put in by players and staff throughout the season in the Intrust Super Cup, Hastings Deering Colts, Mal Meninga Cup and BRL - A Grade seasons.

The Mal Meninga Under 18 awards featured an array of up-and-coming talent, including Magpies and Broncos forward David Fifita while the winner of the Beecher Larkin Memorial was youngster Jett Trembath. This trophy is awarded to a player who epitomises the Beecher spirit and who goes about his job without fuss, but always gets the job done.

The Hastings Deering Colts Magpies side had a strong season, culminating in a finals appearance and awards for this division were spread; with Rory Ferguson taking out the Sel Deed Colts Player of the Year award, after playing outstanding footy and making his debut for the Intrust Super Cup side.

Injuries and NRL progression played their part in a disrupted season for the A Grade side as they helped contribute their players to the Cup squad. However, the team stuck at it and it paid off with wins towards the end of the season. Awards for the A Grade side went to Cody McIntosh, Cameron Booth and Magpies favourite Luke Archer.

Intrust Super Cup assistant coach Mat Cameron took out the Montgomery Lister Club Person of the Year his dedication to the Magpies, even strapping on his boots and running out for the A Grade side when there weren’t enough players.

The Intrust Super Cup awards finished of the night with Best Back awarded to Sam Scarlett, with Guy Hamilton deemed the club’s Most Valuable. Travis Waddell took out the Mick Crocker Memorial (the award recognises greatness and a strong passion for the game against all odds).

The last trophy of the night was the player of year which is named after Pat Phelan (who passed away in 1979).

Considered one of toughest players in the Brisbane comp; former winners include Mal Meninga, Chris Phelan, Billy Johnstone, Gary Belcher, Richo Hill, Mat Pitman and Kieran Whalley.

The award is scored every week via a 3-2-1 vote and after poling 18 points, this year’s winner was Brendon Gibb, who also took out the Best Forward award.

(NOTE: The Women’s Awards night will be held separately)

Intrust Super Cup Award Winners
Greg Veivers Intrust Super Cup Best Forward – Brendon Gibb
Mal Meninga Intrust Super Cup Best Back – Sam Scarlett
Bill Tyquin Intrust Super Cup Most Valuable – Guy Hamilton
Mick Crocker Memorial – Travis Waddell
Pat Phelan Intrust Super Cup Player of the Year – Brendon Gibb

Hastings Deering Colts under 20 Award Winners
Greg Veivers Colts Best Forward – Blake Scott
Mal Meninga Colts Best Back – Kye Oates
Bill Tyquin Colts Most Valuable – Jacob Alick
Sel Deed Memorial – Colts Players of the year – Rory Ferguson

Mal Meninga Cup Under 18 Winners
Greg Veivers Mal Meninga Cup Best Forward - David Fifita
Mal Meninga Cup Best Back – Tesi Niu
Bill Tyquin Mal Meninga Cup Most Valuable – Cruise Ten
Beecher Larkin Memorial – Jett Trembath

BRL – A Grade
Greg Veivers A Grade Best Forward – Cody McIntosh
Mal Meninga A Grade Best Back – Cameron Booth
Bill Tyquin A Grade Most Valuable – Luke Archer

Club Awards
Montgomery Lister – Club Person of the year – Mat Cameron

*The full version of this story can be found on the Souths Logan Magpies website

More Intrust Super Cup club awards