You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Schoolboys Allan Langer Trophy launched for 2019

The Allan Langer Trophy schoolboys competition was launched today at the home of the Brisbane Broncos, with the man himself there to help bring in the new season.

Six schools will take part in this year's competition, with Marsden SHS, Palm Beach Currumbin SHS, St Mary’s College Toowoomba, Keebra Park SHS, Wavell SHS and Ipswich SHS to contest the division.

The Allan Langer Trophy was originally established in an effort to help make Queensland schools more competitive in the National Schoolboy Competition.

The idea was conceived by two former teachers, the late Cyril Connell and John Dixon, who were both employed by the Brisbane Broncos.

Prior to 2001, which was the first year of the Langer Trophy, a Queensland school had never won the National Schoolboys rugby league final.

While there are a number of schoolboys challenges (supported in various ways by the Queensland-based NRL clubs the Brisbane Broncos, Gold Coast Titans and North Queensland Cowboys); the Langer Trophy is reserved for the elite level schools who can compete with the best on the national stage. 

Last year, Palm Beach Currumbin - led by the talents of current Wynnum Manly Seagulls and Broncos contracted halfback Tom Dearden -  flew Queensland flag in the national final and took home the title a win over Patrician Brothers Blacktown.

Dearden was presented with the Peter Sterling Medal for player of the tournament; something which has also been won by current Brisbane Broncos player and Souths Logan Magpies product David Fifita.

As well as Langer, there were other special guests present, including school rugby league stalwart Phil Hall, former Bronco Mick Hancock, Queensland School Sport Rugby League president Andrew Peach and principals from the competing schools.

The players who represented their schools on stage at the launch were: Marsden SHS - Tyrone Sa’U, Palm Beach Currumbin SHS - Toby Sexton, St Mary’s College Toowoomba - Coby Fechner, Keebra Park SHS - Reece Walsh, Wavell SHS - Will Parslow and Ipswich SHS - Lachlan Williamson

Main image courtesy of the Brisbane Broncos