You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Stanthorpe name their team of the century

The Stanthorpe Gremlins celebrated 100 years of footy on the Border recently with a massive weekend for the past and present members of the proud club.

Rugby league originally started in Stanthorpe on July 19, 1919 when a representative team played Toowoomba Valleys and lost 20-19.

They then played a return match in Toowoomba and went on to comprehensively win their first match in the club's 100-year history, 38-16.  

Over the past century, there have been many changes; from a sole team representing the town to a full local competition, which in its peak included up to six teams.

The last major change occurred back in 1974 when the Gremlins came into fruition.

The club still proudly competes under this banner in both juniors and seniors and are uniquely, the only club of any sport in Australia that has the Gremlin as their logo.

The weekend kicked off in style with a super Saturday of rugby league at Sullivan Oval.

The highlight – the Gremlins repeating history to record an emphatic 48-0 win over old foes Valleys to secure a finals berth in Toowoomba’s Second Division competition.

Then, more than 300 people attended the Centenary Dinner held at the Stanthorpe Civic Centre in a night full of laughs, reflection, emotion and pride.

The event included unveiling the Stanthorpe Team of the Century, which included several heavyweights of the game that represented the club before going on to achieve higher honours.

President Lindsay Adams praised committee members David Ball, Norm Crisp, Barry Brunckhorst, Paul Shatte, Ray Reeves, Michael Jensen and Michael Mahoney for their work in compiling the 100-year team.

He also gave thanks to the Stanthorpe Rugby League committee and community for organising, supporting and attending the event.

Stanthorpe team of the century

Listed in alphabetical order:

Jordan Atkins
Laurie Bonner
Bob Cook
Wally Crawford
Russell Crisp
Brian Fuller
Michael Hancock
Neil Hanson
Tony Herman
Ron Lewis
Peter 'Mick' Madsen
Peter Mavin
Bob Newlands
Rob Reeves
Les Sellars
John Scott
Wesley Smith

*Main image courtesy of Gerard Walsh (Stanthorpe's Border Post)