You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Valleys go back-to-back in centenary year

The Valleys Roosters defended their 2018 premiership in style, defeating the Warwick Cowboys 24-16 to lift the Toowoomba Rugby League silverware in its 100th year.

The Valleys forwards laid the foundation for their impressive win in what is also the club's 100th season.

Five-eighth Corey McGrady was excellent and together with his halves partner Ben Cook, took advantage of their forwards' ground making.

The Cowboys had a dream start when Mitch Watson scored off a Codie Tandy kick to get his side in front 6-0.

Unfortunately, the next Tandy kick saw Denzel Burns collect on his own try line and race 95 metres to score Valleys' first try.

It was Watson again in the 24th minute who ran onto a pinpoint Tandy pass to get the Cowboys further in front at 10-4.

McGrady was again instrumental in the next try when he disguised a pass to put his captain Hnaloan Budden into a gap and lock the game up.

A Warwick penalty goal as the half time siren sounded led the Cowboys to the sheds just in front at 12-10, but Valleys started the second half with plenty of energy and their forwards again were fabulous.

In the 48th minute, McGrady kicked in-goal for Gerome Burns to swoop and score near the posts; then McGrady set up Cook to score three minutes later, shooting ahead to lead 22-12.

Dwayne Duncan added further points with a penalty goal in the 60th minute to lead by two converted tries.

Watson scored a late try to claim his hat-trick for the Cowboys, but Valleys played very well, especially in the second half to go back-to-back.

Roosters prop Drew Jackson was named the player of the final and awarded the John McDonald medal for his outstanding efforts up front.

Warwick were wounded after a brutal game and this was reflective with no interchange players left on the bench after 80 minutes, whereas Valleys took control of the match and tackled their way to an historic win.


He started the year off as. Assistant Coach “ Matt Schulze “ ! Forever now he will be referred to as the Super Coach that won the 100yr centennial Premiership with the Valleys Roosters.

Posted by TRL - Toowoomba Rugby Football League Inc on Sunday, 8 September 2019

Earlier, Valleys and Gatton contested the Reserve Grade grand final with these two teams have facing off in the lower grade finals for some time.

Valleys got the better of the first half to lead 12-4 at halftime.

The decider was no place for the faint-hearted in the second half and Gatton’s  Tyler Hawthorn got the Hawks to within two points and opened the door for anyone to claim the honours.

Two minutes from the final siren, Tevita Cocker broke the Hawks' line to set up his brother Sam beside the posts and take the 2019 title in a thriller.

In the Under 18 decider, the Dalby Diehards put in a polished display to defeat Gatton.

The game started well and the lead changed hands a number of times before Dalby took a 20-12 advantage into the break.

Josh Chappell, Max Brady and Keanu Wright-Dunrobin kept turning the young Hawks around and in the end, dominated the match.

The young Diehards did not allow Gatton to score a point in the second half whilst Brady and Wright-Dunrobin scored tries to put the game beyond doubt.

And, in the opening game of grand final day, Newtown claimed a fairytale finish with a nail-biting win over the Hawks in the Second Division finale.

Making the premiership sweeter was the fact the Bluebags tasted success in their first year back since leaving the TRL competition in 2012.

They led 8-0 at halftime, but the Hawks crawled their way back into the match to level the game with 12 minutes remaining.

Both teams were brutal in defence to try and gain an advantage.

Gatton had most of the ball in the game, but Newtown continually turned them around.

Just as the game looked to head to extra time, the Bluebags scored from a scrum near the Hawks goal line after Josh Duncan kicked for fullback Daniel Blades, sending the large contingent of blue and white into hysterics.

Both teams are to be congratulated on an excellent final to start the day and all eight teams should be proud of their on-field success to make the 2019 TRL grand final one to remember in the competition's 100th season.

Grand final results

A Grade:

Valleys 24 (Denzel Burns, Hnaloan Budden, Gerome Burns, Ben Cook tries; Dwayne Duncan 4 goals) defeated Warwick 16 (Mitch Watson 3 tries; Matt Marshall 2 goals)

Reserve Grade:

Valleys 18 (Daniel Bain 2, Sam Crocker tries; Josh Hancock 3 goals) defeated Gatton 10 (Dean Bichel, Tyler Hawthorn tries; Jagan Swan goal)

Under 18:

Dalby 32 (Max Brady 2, Brian-Adam Babbington, Kristian Bond, David Rongo, Keanu Wright-Dunrobin tries; Josh Chappell 4 goals) defeated Gatton 12 (Clayton Melling, Luke Davies tries; Dylan Flanagan 2 goals)

Second Division: Newtown 14 (Noel Bartmann, Cameron Moodie, Dan Blades tries; Cameron Moodie goal) defeated Gatton 8 (Cliff Brown try; Ben Sadler 2 goals)