You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Taumalolo named Cowboys co-captain

Jason Taumalolo will join Michael Morgan as co-captain of the North Queensland Toyota Cowboys for the 2021 NRL season.

Taumalolo is entering his 12th season in Cowboys colours and needs four further appearances to register 200 games for the club, which also triggers automatic life membership.

The 2016 Dally M winner has been a long-term member of the Cowboys’ leadership group and has acted as stand-in captain on numerous occasions over the previous two seasons.

Despite still being just 27, Taumalolo has already compiled one of the most decorated careers in Cowboys history. Aside from his historic Dally M victory, Taumalolo has been named Dally M Lock of the Year on three occasions, appeared in two grand finals and claimed a record fifth consecutive Paul Bowman Medal for Cowboys Player of the Year in 2020.

Morgan took over from club legends Johnathan Thurston and Matt Scott as Cowboys captain prior to the 2019 season.

“Jason has always led by his actions and with this decision I expect him to be more vocal in meetings, on the training park and in games. When he speaks everyone listens. I could tell he relished the responsibility when he captained the side last year and his performances reflected that,” Cowboys Head Coach Todd Payten said.

“The decision to promote Jason along with Michael will allow Michael to put more focus on his individual preparation and performance.

“Both men have a connection built over a long period of time within our system. They know what success looks like and have the trust of all our players and staff to lead us moving forward.”