You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Hubner shines at Capras awards

The Central Queensland Capras recently held their club awards to acknowledge the hard work and commitment displayed by players and staff during season 2021.

In the Intrust Super Cup, it was a year of unearthing new young talent, with forward Lachlan Hubner claiming both the rookie of the year (shared with Tyler Szepanowski) and the player of the year awards.

Hubner, who came through the grades at the club in the Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup and Hastings Deering Colts, will be a key player for the side in season 2022 under new coach Lionel Harbin, who will take over from Guy Williams.

Harbin was also an award winner this year, claiming the John Diamond Club Person of the Year honours.

In their first full season of competition, BHP Premiership players were also honoured, with Mackenzie Reid taking home the top award.

This year, the Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup team made it all the way to the semi finals, with captain Jai Hansen named the player of the year.

Semi-final highlights: Blackhawks v Capras

Central Queensland Capras 2021 award winners

Intrust Super Cup

Best back: Jed Simbiken
Best forward: Nixon Putt
Player’s player: Jed Simbiken
Rookie of the year: Lachlan Hubner and Tyler Szepanowski
Player of the year: Lachlan Hubner

BHP Premiership

Best back: Jess Powell
Best forward: Annette Brander
Player’s player: Naomi Clayton
Rookie of the year: Emma Paki
Player of the year: Mackenzie Reid

Mackenzie Reid in action for the Central Queensland Capras. Photo: Colleen Edwards / QRL
Mackenzie Reid in action for the Central Queensland Capras. Photo: Colleen Edwards / QRL

Hastings Deering Colts

Best back: AJ Gudgeon
Best forward: Sam Strohfeldt
Most improved: Mitch Leard-Lamont
Player of the year: Sam Strohfeldt

Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup

Best back: Peyton Jenkins
Best forward: Tane Kiriona
Player of the year: Jai Hansen

Club awards

Chris Jenkins club person of the year: Bobby McQuire
John Diamond club person of the year: Lionel Harbin

*Award winners submitted by clubs

Other Intrust Super Cup club award winners

'Complete package' Chudleigh claims Townsville's top award
Hunters hand out season award to close a season away
Siolo caps Sunshine Coast move with top award
Mam the man for Souths Logan Magpies
Bella the best from Mackay Cutters
Ahearn completes three-peat for Norths Devils
Jets skipper tops the leader board for sixth time
Triple treat for Samuel at Tigers awards
Timm charges to the top for the Dolphins
Sauiluma and Gray claim Burleigh's top awards
Berrell adds to his haul at Wynnum Manly awards