You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Preview: All the facts and figures for the grand final

The grand final has arrived in the Hostplus Cup with Redcliffe Dolphins and Norths Devils ready to go head-to-head at Moreton Daily Stadium this Saturday.

More information about the finals eligibility of players and extra time rules can be found in the QRL's statewide competitions manual

Below is your grand final 'stats pack' with all of the numbers you need to know for this weekend's game courtesy of Brad Tallon.

Hostplus Cup grand final 

Redcliffe Dolphins v Norths Devils 

Head-to-head: Redcliffe Dolphins 33, Norths Devils 15, draws 2
Head-to-head finals: 
Redcliffe Dolphins 2, Norths Devils 1
Hashtags: #HostplusCup #PHINSvDEVILS
Broadcast: This game will be broadcast via Channel 9, 9Now, FOX and Kayo
Radio call: SENQ 693 AM and DAB+ in Brisbane. Or listen via the SEN app.

  • Redcliffe have won the past two games between the sides, although Norths had won the previous three
  • Redcliffe have won the past six games between these two sides at this venue. Norths have only won the one game at Moreton Daily Stadium since 2009 (in 2013) against the Dolphins. Overall Redcliffe have won 18, Norths five with one drawn match
  • The teams have played three times in Cup finals, with Redcliffe winning two (the 1999 preliminary final at this venue 26-22 and the 2005 elimination semi-final at Bishop Park 33-10), and Norths one (the 1998 elimination semi-final 16-12 at Bishop Park)
  • Apart from the inaugural year of the Cup, this is the first time first year coaches have met in the grand final. They have gone head-to-head only once previously, with Redcliffe victorious 54-16
  • This is the second time a team that changed coaches during the season has made the grand final. Kevin Walters won the grand final with the 2001 Toowoomba side (beating Redcliffe at Redcliffe) after taking over from Terry Matterson (who left to coach Norths) after five games, the same number of games that Norths made the switch this year from Rohan Smith to Ben King and Kevin Neighbour
  • Despite playing in 32 Brisbane Rugby League grand finals between them prior to the commencement of the Cup, Norths and Redcliffe never met in a BRL decider. Redcliffe did break Norths’ run of six consecutive premierships when the Dolphins won their first BRL title in 1965, beating Valleys in the decider, before Norths won again in 1966

Grand final trivia 

  • This is the 26th Cup grand final and the sixth at Moreton Daily Stadium There have been 17 at Suncorp Stadium, two at North Ipswich Reserve and one at Sunshine Coast Stadium
  • It is the fourth grand final at Moreton Daily Stadium that Redcliffe have been involved in. They lost there in 2001 and won there in 2002 and 2003
  • This is the second grand final at the Redcliffe venue that Norths have been in. The Devils won there last year
  • This is the first time the grand final has been played between the third and fourth placed teams after the regular season
  • The third-placed team has been in 14 grand finals, winning five, with the fourth placed team having been in three grand finals, winning two
  • This is the seventh occasion the minor premiers have failed to make the grand final
  • It is also the fifth occasion the defending premiers have made the grand final the following year –  two have won (Redcliffe in 2002-2003 and Wynnum Manly Seagulls in 2011-2012), and two have lost (Redcliffe in 2000-2001 and 2006-2007)
  • This is the third year an eight-team finals system has been used in the Hostplus Cup. Third-placed Burleigh beat second-placed Wynnum Manly in the 2019 grand final, and first-placed Norths beat second-placed Wynnum  Manly last year
  • There have been 12 different premiers in the last 16 seasons – only Wynnum Manly in 2011 and 2012), Northern Pride in 2010 and 2014, Redcliffe in 2006 and 2018 and Burleigh Bears in 2016 and 2019 have won more than once in that time
  • This is the first time an English Super League grand final has featured two coaches who have coached in Queensland’s Cup competition. Rohan Smith (Leeds) coached Norths from 2018 to earlier this year and Kristian Woolf (St Helens) coached the Blackhawks from 2015-2018


Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners