You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

It all started so promisingly for the Central Queensland Capras.

Having jumped out of the blocks with early tries to Hughie Stanley and Theeran Pearson for an 8-0 lead after 12 minutes, it looked set to be the Capras’ night.

But when Tweed Heads Seagulls back-rower Cory Blair found the try-line in the 15th minute, the Browne Park match turned on its head.

In what could only be described as an astonishing turn around, the visiting Seagulls team scored 42 unanswered points.

Tweed’s defence held firm right up until the 72nd minute when a freakish play from Capras excitement machine Marlon Doak finally gave the home fans something to cheer about again.

The score board attendants weren’t called upon in the final eight minutes, as the Seagulls closed out a 42-12 win to continue their march up the ladder.

The Tweed went into the match without regular Titans contracted players Beau Henry, Cody Nelson and Kalifa Faifai Loa.

But the replacements were more than handy, with fellow Titans Maurice Blair, Ryan James and James Roberts slotting in late.

Roberts made an eye catching debut, breaking the line in the 36th minute and running 80m to score a brilliant solo try.

The conversion put the Seagulls in front 14-8, and it was soon 20-8 by half-time after the hard-running Blair crashed over for his second.

The Capras muscled up early in the second half, but some more magic from Roberts sparked a try to Michael Burgess for a 26-8 lead.

Tweed never looked back, going on to record win number six for the season. Aaron Zimmerle’s team sits in sixth spot, just one competition point behind the PNG Hunters, heading into next weekend’s game against Souths Logan.

The Capras will look to turn their fortunes around against the Hunters in Gladstone.

TWEED HEADS SEAGULLS 42 (Michael Burgess 2, Cory Blair 2, Jamal Fogarty, James Roberts, Tom Merritt, Caleb Binge tries; Michael Burgess 4, Blake Anderson goals) def CQ CAPRAS 12 (Hughie Stanley, Marlon Doak, Theeran Pearson tries) at Browne Park.

Final teams

CQ Capras: 1. Reece Baker 16. Hughie Stanley 3. Marco Delapena 19. Brent Williams 5. Rhys Williams 6. Mark Johnstone 7. Marlon Doak 8. Arlin Paki 9. Theeran Pearson 10. Peter Gallen 11. Liam Pickersgill 12. Guy Williams 13. Gavin Hiscox (c) 15. John Clayton 17. Matt Mizzi 21. Andrew Dale 18. Brent Crisp 

Tweed Heads Seagulls: 1. Jamal Fogarty 2. James Roberts 3. Luke Dumas 4. Blake Anderson 5. Tom Merritt 6. Sam Irwin 7. Michael Burgess 8. Damian Sironen 9. Matt King (c) 10. Pele Peletelese 11. Ryan James 12. Cory Blair 14. Caleb Binge 15. Sam Saville 16. Ben Ridge 17. Reg Saunders 18. Maurice Blair

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners