You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

A third-straight win has the Easts Tigers within striking distance of the Intrust Super Cup top five.

The Tigers, who still have a game in hand against the Northern Pride next month, could even force their way into the five by as soon as this weekend if they knock over the Mackay Cutters and other results go their way.

On recent form, the Tigers will be heavily favoured to continue on their winning ways against last year’s grand final nemesis at Langlands Park on Sunday.

Following tough wins over Souths Logan and Ipswich, the Tigers were eager to avoid another tight finish in Saturday night’s round 13 clash against the Sunshine Coast Falcons at Stockland Stadium.

The Tigers were made to work hard by a committed Falcons team, but their class eventually told in the 38-10 victory.

Hard-working Tigers forward Dane Hogan got the ball rolling for the visitors with an early try for a 6-0 lead.

Easts posted the next two tries to extend their advantage to 18-0 before the Falcons hit back to reduce the deficit to 18-4 at half-time.

Big forward Liam McDonald completed a try-scoring double in the second half, while outside backs Cameron Munter and Hymel Hunt also had some nice touches.

Munster has made an immediate impact with the Tigers over the last three weeks, with his ability to counter attack and defuse opposition raids a feature of his play.

While the Tigers will focus on the Cutters this weekend, the Falcons will travel to Piggabeen on Sunday to play an in-form Tweed Heads.

EASTS TIGERS 38 (Liam McDonald 2, Cameron Munster, Hymel Hunt, Grant Giess, Dane Hogan, Jacob Ling tries; Donald Malone 5 goals) def SUNSHINE COAST FALCONS 10 (Sulivasi Vunivalu, Kyle van Klaveren tries; Ryan Hansen goal) at Stockland Stadium.

Final teams:

Sunshine Coast Falcons: 1. Brad Reed 2. Suliasi Vunivalu 3. Rowan Klein 4. Rueben Baillie 5. Kyle Van Klaveren 6. Callum Klein 7. Brett Doherty 8. Mboya Adams 9. Jay Lobwein 10. Ryan Hansen (c) 11. Jaz Nahu-Main 12. Jacob Samoa 13. Tom Murphy 14. Matt Gilliman 15. Brenton Stonier 16. Francis Tualau 17. Joey Stimson

Easts Tigers:1. Cameron Munster 2. Eddie Tautali 3. Hymel Hunt 4. Donald Malone 5. Jarrod McInally 6. Liam Tyson 7. Grant Giess 8. Steven Thorpe (c) 9. Tom Butterfield 10. Felise Kaufusi 11. Dane Hogan 12. Tim Glasby 13. Jacob Ling 14. Liam McDonald 15. Foisa Peni 16. Troy Giess 19. Mitch Garbutt 

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners