You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

By Callum Dick

An Andrew Dale swan dive and second half hat-trick from Garrett Field capped off an impressive CQ Capras performance in their 40-12 victory over the Sunshine Falcons at Marley Brown Oval on Saturday.

Both sides would have eyed this game as a chance to regain some pride after a disappointing 2014 season in which the Capras and Falcons currently sit last and second-last on the ladder with four rounds remaining.

It was the home side who struck early, with a deflected kick ending in the hands of Smith Samau who ran 80 metres to score. The Falcons replied soon after when Reuben Baillie caught the Capras defence napping to cross from dummy half and give the visitors a 6-4 lead.

This lead would prove to be short-lived however, as quick tries to Samau and fullback Reece Baker gave the Capras a 16-6 advantage heading into the break.

An early second half try to Brett Doherty gave the Falcons hope for an upset, before Andrew ‘Heavy’ Dale pounced on a deflected kick and - showing speed belied for a man of his size - ran through the Falcons line to score with an emphatic dive across the line that had the crowd and teammates cheering.

If Dale’s dive was the cake, Garret Field’s eight minute hat-trick was the icing. The second gamer crashed through three defenders on the way to his first as the Falcons were left scrambling after a bomb.

Surrounded by four defenders, an impressive Shannon Rupapere offload gave Garrett the easiest of tries a few minutes later before Garrett did it himself, scoring from dummy half with an outstretched arm minutes from full time.

Next week, the Capras travel to McIndoe Park in Emerald to take on Easts Tigers on Saturday, while the Falcons meet the Cutters at Moranbah’s Darryl Bourke Oval, also on Saturday. 

CQ CAPRAS 40 (Garrett Field 3, Smith Samau 2, Reece Baker, Andrew Dale tries; Shannon Rupapere 5, Peter Gallen goals) def SUNSHINE COAST FALCONS 12 (Brett Doherty, Rueben Baillie tries; Ryan Hansen 2 goals) at Marley Brown Oval, Gladstone.

Final teams

CQ Capras: 1. Reece Baker 2. Mitch Hallinan 3. Smith Samau 15. Hughie Stanley 5. Rhys Williams 6. Guy Williams 7. Shannon Rupapere 8. Rajan Opetaia-Halls 9. Tom McKenzie 10. Peter Gallen 11. Andrew Dale 12. Mitch Zornig 13. Gavin Hiscox (c) 18. Robert Congoo 16. Arlin Paki 17. Matt Mizzi 20. Garrett Field

Sunshine Coast Falcons: 1. Sam Wright 2. Joe Meninga 3. Rowan Klein 4. Callum Klein 5. Paul McKewin 6. Brett Doherty 7. Tom Murphy 8. Mboya Adams 9. Matt Gilliman 10. Ryan Hansen (c) 11. Jaz Nahu-Main 12. Rueben Baillie 13. Jacob Samoa 14. Jay Lobwein 15. James Leavai 16. Luke Blumke 17. Mitch Ebdon