You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Queensland Rugby League has today announced its inaugural Female Queensland Academy of Sport (QAS) squad.

The selection of 21 girls in the Under 15 squad for the January camp on the Gold Coast reflects the growing status of women’s rugby league across the country and the need to develop more opportunities for talented young players.

QRL Managing Director Robert Moore said the initiative marked an important step for the game.

“With the continued growth in female participation, it’s become quite clear that an elite pathway is needed,” Moore said.

“Fortunately, we have a proven development model in place in the form of our QAS program, which has been a cornerstone of the Maroons’ Origin success since its inception in 2001.

“With this in mind, it’s the perfect time to bring the girls into the QAS program and I would like to congratulate the 21 players on their selection in the inaugural camp.

“This development is only possible thanks to the support of the Queensland Government who partner with us through the QAS to provide these programs.”

The QRL’s three Divisions – South East, Central and Northern – have all provided players to the squad, which will be put through its paces at the Gold Coast’s Super Sports Centre from January 5-8. 

Participants will receive expert coaching and guidance from a range of experienced coaches and mentors, in line with the program’s aim to develop highly-skilled and motivated players for future Queensland representation.

The selected players have already had a small taste of the new development opportunities available in the game after taking part in the 2016 QRL Junior State Championships, where an Under 14 girls competition was included for the first time alongside the Under 16s.

Female Queensland Academy of Sport (QAS) Squad:

Courtney Tamati                 Waterford RLFC
Emma Wood                      North Thuringowa RLFC
India Macphee                    Magpies JRLFC
Jasmine Peters                    Northern Suburbs JRLFC
Jordii Mahendrarajah           Kangaroos JRLFC
Layne Bennett                    Tully JRLFC
Shanaye Watson                 Western Lions RLFC
Aria Hudson                       Emu Park RLFC
Skye Houliston                   Hervey Bay RLFC
Loretta Viani                      Caboolture JRLFC
Ashleigh Isaacs                   Newtown RLFC
Haylea Lonergan                 Central Highlands JRLFC
Mariesha Orr                       Caboolture JRLFC
Abelee Stanley-Bosen         Toowoomba JRLFC
Christine Okesene               Northern Suburbs Ipswich JRLFC
Courtney Reynolds              Western Lions RLFC
Tiamo Williams                    Banyo RLFC
Sara Sautia                         Aspley Devils RLFC
Indee Brown                       Waterford RLFC
Kirra Hautamaki                   Aspley Devils RLFC
Keilee Joseph                       Waterford RLFC

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners