You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

A total of 48 league teams from schools across Queensland will contest the annual Confraternity Carnival from June 26-30.

This year’s carnival is being hosted by Padua College, Kedron, with matches to be played at the College’s Playing Fields at Elliott Rd, Banyo, Brisbane.

The draw is available on the QISSRL website. (

Last year’s shield winners, Ignatius Park College, Townsville, will be looking to defend their title, and will be early favourites along with perennial powerhouse St Brendan’s College, Yeppoon.

Two schools – Mount St Bernard College, Herberton and St Mary’s College, Woree – are contesting the carnival for the first time.

Padua College Rector Peter Elmore said: “As a college we are proud to host Confraternity in the same year that we announced our best ever rugby league Team.”

The host school, Padua College, has a rich rugby league tradition, having produced five Queensland State of Origin players and four Kangaroos.

The team was announced at a recent gala dinner which was featured on Channel 9’s NRL Footy Show.

It was captained by footy show host Paul “Fatty” Vautin and included many other ex-NRL players such as Dane Carlaw, David Stagg, Shane Perry, Paul McCabe and David Shillington, all of whom also proudly represented the College in the Confraternity Shield.

The College is also a proud supporter of Men of League Foundation.

As part of the carnival, Tuesday, June 27, will be Men of League day where schools have bought socks to show their support of the work that the foundation does.