You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Queensland were crowned the overall winners at this year's Australian Police Rugby League Tri-Series, earning a points decision after three tough matches in as many days.

Seven Queenslanders were rewarded with spots in the 17-man Australian police team named after the annual tri-series at Wollongong's Win Stadium last week (June 28-30).

Also tapped from the Sunshine State were coach Nick Paterson and assistant coach Danny Hess, who will prepare the national team for their clash with the New Zealand police next month at Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland. The August 24 (Friday) international will be a curtain-raiser to the Round 24 NRL match between the NZ Warriors and Penrith Panthers.

>> Solomona plays for QLD Police

Match wraps

Match 1: QLD Police v NSW Police – played at Win Stadium Curtain as a curtain-raiser to the Dragons v Eels NRL game. Contested in wet and windy conditions, NSW scored in the last minute in the corner but missed the conversion to make it a 4-4 draw. This the third draw in the past four years between the two sides. NSW retained the Interstate Shield due to beating QLD in 2016.

Match 2: QLD Police v Affiliated States and Territories Police (made up of federal police and police from all other states and territories (ACT, Vic, SA, WA, NT, Tas) – played at Win Stadium. QLD won 38-18.

Match 3: NSW Police v Affiliated States and Territories - NSW had to win by more than 20 points to secure the Tri-Series but they fell short, beating AST 26-12.

QLD Police won the Australian Police Rugby League Tri-Series on for-and-against points.

Australian Police Rugby League Team 2018

1. Jake Carl (QLD) – Intrust Super Cup for Burleigh Bears 2018
2. Adam Fuller (AST)
3. Michael O'Keefe (QLD) – former Australian universities rep
4. Blake Robinson (NSW)
5. Anton Sayhoun (NSW)
6. Brendan Williams (AST)
7. Alan Heldsinger (QLD) – former Redcliffe Cup player and QLD Rangers rep
8. Andrew Dunkley (QLD) – current Mackay A Grade Wests Tigers
9. Jarrod Knox (QLD) - current Mackay A Grade Souths
10. Andrew Chard (AST)
11. Mitch West (NSW)
12. Cade DeLepervanche (AST)
13. Danny Lawrence (NSW)
14. Corey White (NSW)
15. Wallace Solomona (QLD) – Former Cowboys and Easts in Cup.
16. Troy O'Sullivan (QLD) – former Ipswich Jets in Cup – son of former Raider Chris O'Sullivan
17. Jeff Milford (AST)

Coach – Nick Paterson (QLD)
A/coach – Danny Hess (QLD)
Head trainer – Paul Wallace (NSW)
Trainer – Bobby O'Riordon (NSW)
Trainer – Steve Wilson (NSW)

This article is based on a report provided by Todd Maguire from the Queensland Police Service Rugby League Association.

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners