You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
St Mary’s seize Confraternity Shield back for south-east

St Mary’s College, Toowoomba matched the precision of its best-known modern rugby league graduate when it stormed to victory in the Confraternity Shield final in Charters Towers today.

St Mary’s 42-6 win over St Peter Claver College, Riverview, delivered south-east Queensland its first Confraternity Shield in 20 years and highlighted another strong batch of young players from the Darling Downs region.

Confraternity veterans still recall the brilliance of Johnathan Thurston when he wore St Mary’s butcher stripes at the Confraternity Carnival, following the likes of the Walker brothers who helped deliver three Shield titles to St Mary’s in the late 1990s. Thurston’s inspiration and advice had been a key motivation for St Mary’s this week.

Hooker Jake Simpkin, halfback Jordan Lipp and backrower Tate McCormick were among St Mary’s best as the Toowoomba team surged past a St Peter Claver College team that never gave in.

“This means a lot to the school and to the wider community,” St Mary’s coach Rob Anderson said.

“We’ve been working towards this in recent years. We had about seven players who were backing up from last year’s carnival. They learned a lot about it then because we play six games in four days. It’s a really tough carnival and our learnings from last year were a huge help this week.”

St Mary’s were the only unbeaten Division 1 team this week, edging powerhouse Ignatius Park College in yesterday’s semi-final. Ignatius Park claimed third place with a 24-6 win over The Cathedral College, Rockhampton.

The carnival brought together 48 teams – almost all Catholic schools – from across Queensland and northern New South Wales for the 39th annual event.

After the qualifying matches, the teams were sorted into pools of eight to play for the Confraternity Shield, Trophy, Plate, Bowl, Cup and Challenge.

St Brendan’s, Yeppoon, claimed the second-tier Bob Lindner Trophy with a 38-12 win over Marist College, Ashgrove while the Confraternity Plate went to Iona College, Lindum with a 46-0 win over St Michael’s College, Merrimac.

Iona College’s trophy was its first in rugby league since 1978 and added another notch to the growing rugby league participation of Brisbane’s Associated Independent Colleges. The traditional rugby union schools announced in May that rugby league would become a full-term sport in 2019. Six of the eight AIC schools contested this Confraternity Carnival.

The locals celebrated when host college Columba Catholic College edged Charters Towers’ rivals Blackheath and Thornburgh College in the Confraternity Bowl final.

An honorary team of the carnival’s best players were named, featuring six players from today’s Shield final. Broncos-contracted hooker Simpkin was named the player of the carnival and the player of the grand final.

The Confraternity Carnival is staged by the Queensland Independent Secondary Schools’ Rugby League with this year’s matches hosted by Columba Catholic College. The fields were turned out in superb order.

QISSRL president Peter Elmore rated the Carnival as a success.

“This Carnival is always about spirit, fair play, fellowship and all of the good qualities of sportsmanship,” Mr Elmore said.

“We saw that throughout the week. I congratulate all players and team officials for the outstanding way in which they played. We look forward to the 40th Confraternity Carnival next year to be hosted by Shalom College, Bundaberg.” 

>> Full results are on the app: Apple: Android:

Confraternity Shield - Final

St Mary’s College, Toowoomba 42 d St Peter Claver College, Riverview 6

Other matches

Ignatius Park College, Townsville 24 d The Cathedral College, Rockhampton 6

Rockhampton Grammar School 24 d Marymount College, Burleigh 22

St Augustine’s College, Cairns 14 d Aquinas College, Ashmore 6

Confraternity Trophy - Final

St Brendan’s College, Yeppoon 38 d Marist College, Ashgrove 12

Other matches

St Teresa’s College, Abergowrie 20 d St Patrick’s, Mackay 8

Emmaus College, Rockhampton 28 d St Patrick’s College, Shorncliffe 6

Padua College, Kedron 32 d St Edmund’s College, Ipswich 6

Confraternity Plate - Final

Iona College, Wynnum 46 d St Michael’s College, Merrimac 0

Other matches

Clairvaux Mackillop College, Upper Mt Gravatt 16 d St Laurence’s College, South Brisbane 6

St Thomas More, Sunnybank 26 d Faith Lutheran College, Plainland 6

Marist College, Emerald 36 d St Joseph’s Stanthorpe / Assumption College Warwick 6

Confraternity Bowl - Final

Columba Catholic College, Charters Towers 20 d Blackheath & Thornburgh College, Charters

Towers 10

Other matches

St Mary’s College, Maryborough / St Patrick’s College, Gympie 22 d St Columban’s College, Caboolture 4

Ryan Catholic College, Townsville 44 d St Joseph’s College, Toowoomba 20

Holy Spirit College, Mackay 28 d All Souls St Gabriel’s College (1), Charters Towers 8

Confraternity Cup - Final

Chanel College, Gladstone 36 d Xavier Catholic College, Hervey Bay 0

Other matches

Trinity College, Beenleigh 22 d Our Lady of the Southern Cross, Dalby 12

Emmaus College, Jimboomba 21 d Good Shepherd Catholic College, Mount Isa 10

Shalom College, Bundaberg 16 d St James’ College, Spring Hill 6

Confraternity Challenge - Final

St Anthony’s Catholic College, Townsville 16 d St John’s Catholic School, Roma 12

Other matches

Gilroy Santa Maria College, Ingham 12 d St Augustine’s College, Springfield 6

St Mary’s Catholic College, Woree 20 d All Souls St Gabriel’s College (2) 12

Mt Maria College, Mitchelton 44 d St Mary’s Catholic College, Casino 0

Confraternity Carnival honorary team

Jacob Spark (Rockhampton Grammar)
Mark Gardiner (Ignatius Park)
Xavier Coates (Marymount College)
Ligi Nonoa-Hansel (St Peter Claver College)
Ezraa Coulston (St Peter Claver College)
Aaron Moor (Rockhampton Grammar)
Jordan Lipp (St Mary’s Toowoomba)
Dean Barnes (Ignatius Park)
Jake Simpkin (St Mary’s Toowoomba)
Mace Ioane (St Peter Claver College)
Tate McCormick (St Mary’s Toowoomba)
Joey Jensen (Ignatius Park)
Austen Routley (Rockhampton Grammar)
Danny Heenan (Padua College)
Zack Brooks (Marist Ashgrove)
Mitchell O’Connell (St Patrick’s Mackay)

Samuel Nimmo (Ignatius Park)
Coach: Robert Bell (St Joseph’s Stanthorpe / Assumption College Warwick)
Manager: Rob Alexander (The Cathedral College, Rockhampton)