You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
In Safe Hands Cup title race heats up in Round 8

Round 8 of the In Safe Hands Cup will feature three games across the city on Saturday afternoon.  

The Diehards, Seagulls and Panthers are locked on top of the table on 17 points each with the Dolphins, Tigers and Magpies equal on 11 points.

Last weekend, the Magpies swooped back into contention thanks to a superb second half and a 44-22 win over the Tigers.

The Diehards put the Premiers on notice with a 50-24 drubbing of the Seagulls at Kougari Oval while Redcliffe again allowed their opposition out to a big lead, before falling short of the comeback. This time going down 20-18 at the hands of the Panthers.

Souths Logan Magpies v Redcliffe Dolphins – Saturday, May 11 at Civic Park, 1pm

Souths Logan will take on the Redcliffe Dolphins at Logan Brothers at Civic Park in the first game of the round.

The Magpies were outstanding last week, but it will mean little if they can’t back it up against the Dolphins here.

Redcliffe were too good for the Magpies 38-6 in their last outing, however, since that game Souths Logan have put some quality football on the park.

A close encounter with the Seagulls and last week’s big win have put the competition on notice.

The mercurial Phil Dennis will again be the go-to man this week. Dennis had the ping pong bats out last week, directing his flock around the tarmac at West End and his squadron responded.

With George Fai, Savarn Tahere and the second rower / centre Luke Burton starting, McIntosh has plenty of hombres to join him up front to take on the Phins.

Redcliffe have unearthed a line breaking, try scoring weapon in Zev John. John was menacing all night against the Panthers last week, rewarded with a try that put Redcliffe into gear.

Tyson Cleal is returning to his feisty best form at lock and with Oscar Carter and Kyle Foxwell often combining on the same side of the field, Redcliffe are quite capable of the win, providing they get off to better starts than they have of late.

Valleys Diehards v Easts Tigers – Saturday, May 11 at Emerson Park, 3pm

Easts Tigers are in a world of hurt at the moment as they look to breathe life back into their campaign.

They led 22-12 at the break last week but were thoroughly outplayed in the second half as Souths Logan piled on 32 unanswered points.

With the Intrust Super Cup on a break due to the Residents game, the Tigers have a few additions.

Rhys Jacks, Jack Anderson, Jack Walters and former Panther and Redcliffe ball runner Ash Harawira-Naera will add to a side that started with two wins, but have trodden unfertile land in the past five rounds, reaping only the one point with each outing.

Waiting for what the Tigers desperation can throw at them are the sizzling Diehards.

Greg Norman was called the Shark thanks to his ability to come from nowhere and devour his prey. Similar could be said of the Diehards in 2019, as putting early points on them seems to enrage the men in blue and put them into gear.

Diehards hooker Kobe Hetherington has relished the go-forward of his big men in recent weeks, allowing him to send the Steeden out wide to the lightning quick outside backs.

Wests Brisbane Panthers v Wynnum Manly Seagulls – Saturday, May 11 at Frank Lind Oval, 4.30pm

West looked to be in total control against Redcliffe last week until they lost their way, letting the Dolphins back in and only surviving by two points.

The Panthers will be up against the Seagulls who are still smarting after a touch up at home against Valleys.

West Brisbane have a similar line up to their last starting 17 with two changes.

James Olds returns on the wing and game changer Evander Cummins comes on to the bench.

The cleverness of Kyle Van Klaveren at fullback has become more of a handful each week as KVK has the uncanny ability of knowing when to insert his brilliance into a game.

The Seagulls are not happy - hell hath not felt the fury of an angry Seagulls side in full flight - especially after they had 50 put on them in their own backyard last week.

Coach Ron Troutman has Matt Groat returning from suspension, as well as the damaging Salesi Funaki.

Add to that the pinpoint kicking game of hooker Tristan Hope and Wynnum Manly will certainly be a handful.

In Safe Hands Cup - Round 8

Souths Logan Magpies v Redcliffe Dolphins – Saturday May 11 at Civic Park, 1pm

#BRLTV Livestream


1. Beniah Bowie 2. Samsoni Vaiolati 3. Lenny Magey 4. Tommy Sau 5. Josateki Lalagavesi 6. Haydn O’Hara 7. Lachlan Cooper 8. George Fai 9. Savarn Tahere 10. Cody McIntosh 11. Luke Burton 12. Simione Fatafehi 13. Phil Dennis 14. Josh Bowen Bowyer 15. Jerome Veve 16. Jacon Tonge 17. Kobe Tararo

Coach: Darren Ferricks


1. Will Lousick 2. Michael Walit 3. Sam Leach 4. Corban Daniels 5. Justice Utatao 6. Oscar Carter 7. Kyle Foxwell 8. Zeve John 9. Hugh Pratt 10. Taylor Brown 11. Fabien Paiatua-Kiri 12. Ben King 13. Sheldon Pitama 14. Tevita Mapapalangi 15. Bailey Butler 16. Fiatotoa Fiatotoa 17. Tyson Cleal.

Coach: Daniel Green

Valleys Diehards v Easts Tigers – Saturday May 11 at Emerson Park, 3pm

#DIEHARDSTV Livestream


1. David Fauid 2. Fruen Easthope 3. Jared Chambers 4. Jack Patterson 5. Luke Archer 6. Simon Brittain-Snowden 7. Brad Frith 8. Ben Mataia 9. Kobe Hetherington 10. Patrick Akaoula 11. Joe Bradley 12. Ethan Richards 13. Moses Noovao-McGreal 14. Liam Horne 15. Sosefo Filipine 16. Iian Riccardi 17. Jordan Mago

Coach: Craig Kennedy


1. Matt Ruthenburg 2. Connor Jones 3. Max Felosi 4. Keenan Yorston 5. Aaron Piddock 6. Rhys Jacks 7. Josh Curti 8. Justin Fai 9. Chris Ostwald 10. Jaiyden Hunt 11. Jack Peoples 12. Tevita Wolske 13. Jack Anderson 14. Jack Walters 15. Lachlan Barr 16. Lachlan Lanskey 17. Ash Harawira-Naera Coach: Jason Di Lizio

Wests Brisbane Panthers v Wynnum Manly Seagulls – Saturday, May 11 at Frank Lind Oval, 4.30pm

#PANTHERTV Livestream


1. Kyle Van Klaveren 2. Campbell Mohr 3. Eddie Tautali 4. Luke Polluck 5. James Olds 6. Kahn Ahwang 7. Mackenzie Reid 8. Michael Molo 9. Adam Harris 10. Johnnie Fox 11. Keelyn Tuuta 12. Troy Swift 13. Jordan Brown 15.  Michael Egan 16. Stephen Buckley 17. Shane Pumipi 18. Evander Cummins 20. Foisa Peni (One to be omitted)

Coach: Wayne Weekes and Craig Ingebrigtsen


1. Matthew Milson 2. Harlan Collins 3. Jordan Drew 4. Rashaun Denny 5. Jack Goodsell 6. John Te Reo 7. Edwin Ipape 8. Semisi Ahoafi 9. Tristan Hope 10. Matt Groat 11. Salesi Funaki 12. Sam Elliott 13. Rahdly Brawa 14. Corey Davis 15. Brad Mana 16. Andrew Clayton 17. Jacob Paulo

Coach: Ron Troutman

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners