You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Speed demon - the results are in!

The fans have spoken!

Last week we asked the question 'who is your pick for the fastest in the Intrust Super Cup?' and we got fans to vote on who had made the best use of their speed in the competition.

As this was not an accurate measure of speed over 100 metres (one day we can hopefully line up all the contenders in a foot race), and more a question of perception, it was fun to gauge who fans enjoyed seeing in full stride. 


Who do you think has the most speed to burn? 🔥

Posted by Intrust Super Cup on Tuesday, 27 August 2019

The poll was open for one week and there were more than 2000 votes (2025) overall.

There were also some great late nominations to come through - Shaun Bowen (Northern Pride), Justice Utatao (Redcliffe Dolphins), Michael Carroll (Townsville Blackhawks) and Denzel Burns (Ipswich Jets) - and some perhaps not quite as likely contenders (not naming names).

Gela-Mosby Intrust Super Cup season highlights

However, in the end, congratulations has to go to Northern Pride speedster Gideon Gela Mosby who took out the poll with 17 per cent of the vote.

He was closely followed by Falcons flyer Jono Reuben on 11 per cent and Jets fullback Michael Purcell on nine per cent of the vote to round out the top three.

The remaining player nominees who made up the top five were Bears try scorer Troy Leo on eight per cent, while Wynnum Manly Seagull Edene Gebbie and Norths Devils gun Herbie Farnworth both received seven per cent.

Wyatt 'Wheels' Raymond.
Wyatt 'Wheels' Raymond.

However, QRL match official Wyatt Raymond was a dark horse in the contest and actually polled alongside Leo with eight per cent of the vote.

And - while he may have only garnered one per cent of the popular vote - Easts Tigers half Billy Walters gets a gold star from us for being a such good sport and copping some less than supportive comments in the original Facebook post from team mates and fellow players, who themselves did not receive a nomination in the contest.

See the final results of the poll here: Who is the fastest in the Intrust Super Cup?