You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
QRL confirms change to state team selection criteria

Queensland Rugby League has approved a key change to the XXXX Queensland Residents selection criteria, with this year’s team to be picked on State of Origin eligibility instead of the previous ‘residents’ basis.

This shift is in line with the QRL’s strategic focus, aimed at increasing the number of Queensland eligible players in the National Rugby League.

It effectively means there will be a change to the name of the state representative team, with the QRL currently exploring new branding options.

The alignment to Origin eligibility is supported by Queensland Maroons head coach Kevin Walters, as well as the QRL’s Pathways and Performance Committee.

Other key points:

  • State selectors can pick Queensland eligible players involved in both the Intrust Super Cup and the NSW Canterbury Cup
  • The New South Wales Rugby League will select solely from the Canterbury Cup, however both states will select in accordance with workload and balance
  • The representative fixture is scheduled to be played at ANZ Stadium on June 21, before Game II of the Holden State of Origin series

This change in approach will be supported by the appointment of a new Queensland coach with further details to be announced in due course.

The QRL thanks Jon Buchanan for his outstanding services over the past three years with the XXXX Queensland Residents team and wish him well with his current club coaching commitments in 2020.

Mic'd up: Jon Buchanan

2020 male representative fixture list

  • June 3, Adelaide – Queensland Under 18 team to play
  • June 21, Sydney – Queensland (brand name TBC) to play
  • July 8, Brisbane – Queensland Under 20 team to play