You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Queensland Outback teams represent a large section of the state, from Mt Isa in the north to St George and Roma in the south, and everywhere in between.

For these players it is the highlight of their footy careers to be selected in these prestigious squads.

The juniors - under 14s boys and girls, under 16s boys and under 17s girls - play in the Rees Orman Cultural Exchange in Coolum each year while the senior men and women’s teams play in various locations, including recent trips to Thursday Island, Roma, Tully, and the Sunshine Coast.

While this is an absolute thrill for these players, many volunteers put their hands up to be part of the coaching team and to guide these players, young and old.

These people take up to a week off work to travel with the teams and nothing is too much trouble for them in ensuring all the players' needs are met.

This year as well - thanks to Sarah Walker and Amy Bock from the Central NRL team - the Outback coaches were provided with education sessions by some of the best in the game, including Jillaroos mentor Brad Donald, former NRL coach Neil Henry, Shane Morris and Anthony Wood from the Redcliffe Dolphins, and Brad Henderson from the Sunshine Coast Falcons.

All Outback coaches attended and benefited from the experience, taking what they learned back to their local players.

And with the help of Chris Waters - the David Middleton of Queensland Outback footy - the Queensland Rugby League were able to look back and obtain the names of every Outback coach, dating back to the first team in 2004, overseen by Queensland Maroons great Jason Hetherington.

In recognition of their work, each coach has now been honoured with their representative number, which has been embroidered on an exclusive commemorative Outback Cap.

For any coaches who see their name on the list and have not yet received their cap, please contact Peter Rafter on 0430 303 643 or via email.

No. Name First year as coach
1 Jason Hetherington 2004
2 Les Carter 2005
3 Anthony Kyle 2005
4 Darren Munns 2006
5 Lyal Balderson 2007
6 Alby Anderson 2008
7 Grant Bignell 2010
8 Richard Steel 2011
9 Mark Davies 2012
10 Lynette Kim Sing 2012
11 Tony Wilkinson 2013
12 Shaun Radnedge 2014
13 David Kerrigan 2014
14 Bruce Nott 2015
15 Mal MacRae 2015
16 Dennis Moore 2015
17 Wayne Smith 2016
18 Derek Brady 2017
19 Luke Brosnan 2017
20 Kurt Rose 2018
21 Wendy Clarke 2018
22 Ian Kearton 2018
23 Frank Lambley 2019
24 Nikki Sutherland 2019
25 Patrick Heumiller 2019
26 Bryce Holdsworth 2019
27 Wayne Collie 2019
28 Jeremy Barron 2021
29 Lawrence Hanson 2021
30 Dan Nunn 2021
31 John Buttegieg 2021
32 John Doyle 2022
33 Daniel Rhodes 2022
34 Nikki Richards 2022
Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners