You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Spoils shared around in Roma District grand finals

A big final weekend of footy in Roma had juniors on Saturday from under 6s to under 14s, followed by under 16s and senior grades on Sunday.

The under 14 grand final was the centrepiece for Saturday, finishing off the day with an entertaining game which had St George running out winners 30-8 against Mitchell Magpies.

Rocky Smith from Mitchell was awarded the best forward in the grand final, while St George player Tyson Mumford won the best back and Tyrell Lacey the player of the grand final.

The senior grand finals at Bassett Park were a tough day for minor premiers, as only one took out the double on the day.

St George under 14s premiers
St George under 14s premiers

A large crowd attended to witness some outstanding football, with four different clubs taking out the premierships.

The day started out with the under 16 game between Red Bulls and St George.

There certainly some very talented players in the Roma area who were showing their best in this game.

Red Bulls, under 16 premiers
Red Bulls, under 16 premiers

The St George players were fast and skilful, but it was the size and strength of the Red Bulls' forwards who paved the way for their 36-20 win.

Matt Walsh from Red Bulls was later awarded player of the year.

The under 18 game between Chinchilla and St George showed plenty of talent, with a number of players showing they are ready for the step up to A grade next year.

In a close game that kept everyone on their toes throughout, St George was too strong in the end to take out the premiership 28-20.

St George under 18 premiership team
St George under 18 premiership team

St George's Nat Davis was presented with player of the year.

The reserve grade game is quite often the most entertaining of the day and this year we again saw a highly contested game of footy played between Mitchell, who only had lost one game all year, and Chinchilla.

With both teams having a mix of young up-and-comers as well as some older experienced players, this was an old fashion grinding grand final.

Chinchilla scored a couple of late tries to run out comfortable winners 32-16.

Dan Dwyer from Mitchell was reserve grade player of the year.

Then it was on to the big one, with both teams having large vocal support, adding to the atmosphere on the day.

The A grade game was one of the closest games for many years, with the result up in the air until the final siren.

Reserve grade winners Chinchilla
Reserve grade winners Chinchilla

Mitchell had been the standout team all season going through undefeated, but Red Bulls were not going to let that worry them in the grand final and put up a great showing against the minor premiers.

The scores were locked at 6-6 at half time, with both teams throwing everything at each other in the second half.

Mitchell held on and led 18-12 when the full-time siren sounded.

A grade player of the year was Ollie Peak from Mitchell, who also captained the Queensland Outback side this year.

Roma Cities player Chris Gelhar was awarded the representative player of the year, while Matt Eising from Chinchilla was the players' choice rep player of the year.

Main image: Mitchell Magpies celebrate the A grade premiership

Full results

Under 16s

Red Bulls 36 (Kyaan Sewell 2, Jade Beardmore, Lachlan Anderson, Hunter Price, Bailey Tighe, Riley Lucht tries; Matthew Walsh 3, Alex Freeman goals) def St George 20 (Tasman Croden-Hazell, Tye Clark, Cohen Neven, Riley Tattam tries; Chris Nevin 2 goals)

Under 18

St George 28 (Braxton Beardmore, Tyson Woodbridge, Nate Davis, Shontayne Prince, Amdes Saunders tries; Nate Davis 3 goals) def Chinchilla 20 (Isiah Madigan, Kyan Ferguson, Angus Pascoe, Jono Pitt tries; Jono Pitt 2 goals)

Reserve grade

Chinchilla 32 (Jordan Ashurst 2, Brandan Paerau, Dan Gleeson, Steve Brownhalls, Tom Lenihan tries; Brandan Paerau 4 goals) def Mitchell 16 (Tallis Mitchell, Harry Hancock, Dan Dwyer, Rian Laverty tries)

A grade

Mitchell 18 (Thomas Kennedy 2, Les Wortley, Jackson Nicholls tries; Ollie Peak goal) def Wallumbilla/Surat Red Bulls 12 (Tom McCoy, Ben York tries; Mav Fisher 2 goals)

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners