You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Wynnum Manly Seagulls fullback Daniel Ogden has provided Queensland Residents selectors with a timely reminder of his talents after crossing for a hat-trick in his team’s 38-10 win over the Sunshine Coast Falcons at Stockland Stadium.

Ogden scored two tries from Matt Seamark kicks and crossed for his third late in the game after receiving a clever pass on the short side from hooker Alehana Mara.

Seagulls fullback Jon Grieve was also a constant threat to the Falcons, crossing for a brilliant first-half try that took the visitors to a 10-0 lead.

However, that try only seemed to spark the Falcons into action – and the home team was soon on the board when a shift to the right saw Rowan Klein beat his man and pass to Joe Meninga.

Meninga produced a powerful finish in the corner, raising the spirits of home fans on a chilly winter evening.

Soon after, the Falcons produced another clinical finish, this time through halfback David Oakes who scored directly from a Rueben Baillie bust.

The teams went to the sheds at 10-10, but the half-time break wasn’t kind to the Falcons as big Seagulls prop Dylan Smith powered his way over for the first try of the second half, despite protests from the Sunshine Coast players who questioned the grounding.

Wynnum quickly kicked into top gear, with Ogden’s second try giving them further breathing space, before Mitchell Frei sprinted away to post another four-pointer.

Tries to Grieve and Ogden rounded out the scoring for the Seagulls, who are flying high in third place on the Intrust Super Cup ladder. 

WYNNUM MANLY SEAGULLS 38 (Daniel Ogden 3, Jon Grieve 2, Mitchell Frei, Dylan Smith tries; Matthew Seamark 5 goals) def SUNSHINE COAST SEA EAGLES 10 (Joe Meninga, David Oakes tries; David Oakes goal) at Stockland Stadium.

Final teams

Sunshine Coast Falcons: 1. Callum Klein 2. Joe Meninga 3. Rowan Klein 4. Rueben Baillie 5. Kyle Van Klaveren 6. Brett Doherty 7. David Oakes 8. Mboya Adams 9. Jay Lobwein 10. Ryan Hansen (c) 11. Jaz Nahu-Main 12. Jacob Samoa 13. Matthew Saunima’a 14. James Leavai 15. Matt Gilliman 16. Denman Ah-You 18. Paul McKewin

Wynnum Manly Seagulls: 1. Daniel Ogden 2. Peter Gubb 3. Matt Grieve 4. Joe Mua 5. Benaiah Bowie 6. Ben Cronin 7. Matthew Seamark 8. Benjamin Shea 9. Alehana Mara 10. Timothy Natusch (c) 11. Jon Grieve 12. John Te Reo 13. Mitchell Frei 14. Graham Clark 15. Stephen Coombe 16. Tanu Wulf 17. Dylan Smith