You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

A run of 28 unanswered points has seen the Wynnum Manly Seagulls regain the Herald Cup against a lacklustre Redcliffe Dolphins outfit with a 44-10 victory at Dolphin Oval on Sunday.

For the first time since 2010, the Seagulls secured the Herald Cup on the back of five second half tries, as well as doubles to Daniel Ogden and Matt Grieve.

At half time the home side looked a chance to turn things around, trailing only 16-6 at the break. Any ideas of a comeback were quickly snuffed out however, when a try to Jordan Kahu and two to Matt Grieve within 20 minutes put the visitors out of reach.

Ben Cronin was involved in everything for the Seagulls, with his first half try complimented by an assist to Daniel Ogden and a deft kick toward the left corner to send Kahu over shortly after the break.

An easy try to Mitchell Buckett was followed shortly after by Daniel Ogden’s second, which was anything but easy. A misfielded kick allowed Wynnum to regain ball control, where multiple missed tackles and two questionable offloads eventuated in Ogden strolling over to bring up 40 points for the visitors.

With the damage already done, a well-placed Cameron Cullen grubber sent Aaron Whitchurch over to score a consolation try for the Dolphins.

Round 23 showcases a battle of the seagulls, when Wynnum takes on Tweed Heads at T.J. O’Neill Oval in Kingaroy on Sunday. Redcliffe meanwhile will meet Burleigh at the Longreach Showgrounds on the Saturday. 

WYNNUM MANLY SEAGULLS 44 (Daniel Ogden 2, Matt Grieve 2, Mitchell Buckett, Jordan Kahu, Ben Cronin, Mitchell Frei tries; Matthew Seamark 6 goals) def REDCLIFFE DOLPHINS 10 (Aaron Whitchurch, Martin Cordwell tries; Adrian Davis goa) at Dolphin Oval.

Final teams

Redcliffe Dolphins: 1. Adrian Davis 2. Oliver Regan 3. Aaron Whitchurch 4. Marty Hatfield (c) 5. Liam Georgetown 18. David Hala 7. Cameron Cullen 8. Constantine Mika 9. Hayden Hansen 10. Jon Green (c) 11. Jake Marketo 12. Dalton Phillips 13. Tom Geraghty 14. Chris Fox 15. Joe Bradley 16. James Crombie 17. Martin Cordwell

Wynnum Manly Seagulls: 1. Daniel Ogden 2. Peter Gubb 3. Matt Grieve 4. Mitchell Buckett 5. Jordan Kahu 6. Ben Cronin 7. Matthew Seamark 8. Tanu Wulf 9. Alehana Mara 10. Timothy Natusch (c) 11. Jon Grieve 12. Graham Clark 13. Mitchell Frei 14. John Te Reo 15. Saia Makisi 16. Chris McLean 17. Dylan Smith

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners