You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Costly win for Tigers

A THREE-try burst just after halftime for the Tigers helped them record a 28-20 win over the gutsy Souths Logan Magpies at Davies Park yesterday afternoon.

The win saw last year’s grand finalists move to second spot on the ladder, and at the same time, ended the Magpies finals dream.

Throughout an entertaining match at Davies Park, the Magpies threw all they could at Easts in the dying stages; but the Tigers had too much class, and also showed great resolve in defence.

The afternoon started in perfect fashion for the Tigers, with Cody Walker scoring the opening try in just his second game back from a hamstring injury.

However, the Magpies hit straight back with Dallas Anderson grabbing an offload from Jordan Rapana close to the line and darting over via the short side.

Impressive forward Patrick Mago then scored the first of this two tries for the afternoon and put his side in front for the first (and last time) in the match with a try following a good exchanges of passes.

As halftime approached – Tigers winger Jarrod McInally was able to put his side back in front when he dove over in the left hand corner to give Easts a 12-10 lead at the break.

Shane Neumann’s try following a strong run at the line sparked the Tigers at the start of the second half, with the three-try passage of play (Neumann, a second to Walker following a Cameron Munster break and one to forward Felise Kaufusi) proved too much to the Magpies to overcome, despite a late second-half fight back.

The win came at a cost though for the Tigers with injuries to Felise Kaufusi and Foisa Peni (broken arm). 

EASTS TIGERS 28 (Cody Walker 2, Jarrod McInally, Shane Neumann, Felise Kaufusi tries; Jacob Fauid 4 goals) def SOUTHS LOGAN MAGPIES 20 (Patrick Mago 2, Jordan Rapana, Dallas Anderson tries; Jordan Rapana 2 goals) at Davies Park.

Final teams

Souths Logan Magpies

1. Jordan Rapana 2. Ramon Filipine 3. Dallas Anderson 4. Tim Brooks 5. Luke Archer 6. Ihaka Watene 7. Ben Jackson 8. Luke Page 9. Mitch Cronin 10. Andrew Edwards 11. Darcy Wright 12. Patrick Mago 13. Luke Bateman 14. Herschel Gideon 20. Simanu Crichton 16. Zac Lemberg 17. Daniel Tamou

Easts Tigers

1. Cameron Munster 2. Jarrod McInally 3. Shane Neumann 4. Hymel Hunt 5. Richie Kennar 6. Jacob Fauid 7. Cody Walker 8. Steven Thorpe (c) 9. Tommy Butterfield 10. Felise Kaufusi 18. Dane Hogan 12. Troy Giess 13. Jacob Ling 14. Mitch Garbutt 15. Foisa Peni 16. Matthew Zgrajewski 17. Liam Tyson

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners