You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

CONGRATULATIONS to the latest winners of the XXXX Club of the Week weekly prize – the Cairns Kangaroos!

The Kangaroos were nominated by administration manager at the club Robert McDougall and as a weekly winner, will receive some great prizes including XXXX merchandise and a ball signed by the victorious Queensland State of Origin team from Game 3, 2014.

All winning entries will also go in the draw to win the grand final prize of $5000 worth of food, beverage and entertainment for an end of season function at your club.

See Robert’s winning entry below:

The Cairns based Kangaroos Rugby League Football Club capped off their 2014 season with a Premiership title backing up from taking the title out in 2013.

Remarkably, the win in 2013 broke a 27-year drought; the A Grade team hadn’t had their grip on the silverware since 1987.

For club officials and supporters, the premierships are testament to senior clubs’ commitment and drive to build a club culture of family and inclusiveness.

Nine players in the 2014 A Grade premiership team have come up through the ranks. The Under 18s, who also took out the 2014 Premiership title, fielded a team with 16 players who have also made their way through the ranks.

This is a remarkable achievement of which club president Kelvin Lesina, is justifiably proud.

“We are not a wealthy club in a financial sense, but work hard to build a family based club culture where everyone is welcome,” he said

“I have had the pleasure of being president of the Kangaroos for a couple of years now, and there is nothing more satisfying than seeing these fine young men develop into quality rugby league players.

“Winning premierships is the icing on the cake, what we all strive for, and is only possible by the commitment of our coaches and staff, volunteers, sponsors and supporters of our club.”

If you would like to enter your senior club in the XXXX Club of the Week competition – follow these steps: XXXX Club of the Week


2014 winners:

Theodore Roosters
Monto Roos
Pittsworth Danes