You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Lamar Manuel-Liolevave - Intrust Super Cup Round 20 - Souths Logan Magpies v Tweed Heads Seagulls at Kev Bannah Oval, Julia Creek. 2pm, Sunday, July 23, 2017.

Second-rower Lamar Liolevave won the Intrust Super Cup team’s Player of the Year Award (Col Hayes Trophy) in his first season with the Romano Group Tweed Heads Seagulls.

The 21-year-old Junior Kiwi representative had an outstanding season with a team that battled their way off the bottom of the ladder in the last round. He missed just one of the side’s 23 games and was a stand-out performer in most of them.

The aggressive and skilful back-rower, who still has NRL ambitions (he played one match with Wests Tigers) and trained with the Gold Coast Titans one day a week during 2017, accepted the award at the annual presentation dinner which was held at the Seagulls Club.

The Players’ Player award went to 20-year-old lock Keegan Hipgrave who impressed with his willingness and aggression in his eight appearances after debuting in Round 16 off the bench against the Blackhawks.

 He finished the season by making his NRL debut for the Titans against Sydney Roosters in the final round.

The Intrust Super Cup coach’s award went to five-eighth Lindon McGrady who was also the side’s top points-scorer with 72 from six tries and 24 goals, ahead of halfback Michael Burgess with 49 (4 tries, 16 goals and a field goal).

The top try-scorer for the season was Brayden McGrady with nine, ahead of veteran centre James Wood (7), Lindon McGrady (6) and Burgess and Peter Lee with four each.

The A Grade Players’ Player was consistent skipper Josh Harvey while the FOGS Colts Under 20 Players’ Player, winning the Craig Farrugia Memorial Award, was Luke Polson.

Long-serving coach Aaron Zimmerle, who announced he was stepping away from the role next season, was also thanked for his contribution to the club.

Tweed Heads Seagulls 2017 awards

Supporter of the Year: Dan Meyer
Maurie Morgan Memorial Trophy – Best Defensive Player: Nick Harrold
Afghan Trophy in memory of Alan Colwell (Clubman of the Year):
Matt King
Peter Ryan Trophy – Best Junior Player entering Seniors:
Jayden Baker
Col Hayes Trophy for Intrust Super Best and Fairest:
Lamar Liolevave

Players’ Player Intrust Super Cup: Keegan Hipgrave
Craig Farrugia FOGS Colts Challenge Players’ Player:
Luke Polson
Players’ Player A Grade:
Josh Harvey

Coach’s Award Intrust Super Cup:
Lindon McGrady
Coach’s Award FOGS Colts Challenge:
Jack Peacock
Coach’s Award A Grade:
Maia Sands

(This first appeared on the Tweed Heads Seagulls website)

Other Intrust Super Cup club award winners

Mackay Cutters
Easts Tigers
Souths Logan Magpies
Townsville Blackhawks
Burleigh Bears
Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Ipswich Jets
Redcliffe Dolphins

>> The QRL are featuring all the Intrust Super Cup club award winners in coming weeks. Keep an eye on the website for all the news.

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners