You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Intrust Super Cup grand final: by the numbers

After an exhilarating season, the time has come to crown this year’s Intrust Super Cup winner.

The Wynnum Manly Seagulls and Burleigh Bears have both had excellent seasons and will face off at Dolphin Stadium on Sunday to crown the premiership winner.

All you need to know about the 2019 Intrust Super Cup grand final day.

Below are the ‘stats that matter’ for the Intrust Super Cup decider, courtesy of Brad Tallon.


Wynnum Manly Seagulls v Burleigh Bears
Dolphin Stadium on Sunday, September 29 – 3.15pm (Live on Channel 9)
Twitter: #intrustsupercup #WYNvBEARS #lesscro #UptheGulls #BackYourBears

  • This is the fourth Cup grand final at Dolphin Oval / Stadium – 17 have been at Suncorp Stadium, two at North Ipswich and one at Sunshine Coast Stadium.
  • This is the first grand final at Dolphin that Redcliffe have not been in – they were defeated by Toowoomba in 2001 and beat Ipswich in 2002 and Burleigh in 2003.
  • This is the fourth time the grand final has been played between the second and third placed teams after the regular season; Redcliffe (2) beat Easts (3) in 2003, Tweed (3) beat Redcliffe (2) in 2007 and Mackay (2) beat Easts (3) in 2013.
  • This is the sixth occasion the minor premiers have missed the grand final (Wynnum 1997, Young Guns 2007, Souths Logan 2009 and 2010, Northern Pride 2013 and Sunshine Coast 2019).
  • This is the 45th Cup game between the two sides – Burleigh have won 25, Wynnum 16 with three drawn. Burleigh have won the last five, and seven of the last eight games between the two sides. Burleigh won both games this year – 26-18 at Pizzey Park in Round 6, and 34-32 in the finals at BMD Kougari Oval.
  • These two sides played the only scoreless draw in competition history at Kougari Oval in Round 1 of 2010.
  • The teams have played only once in Cup finals - this year’s qualifying final which Burleigh won 34-32.
  • This is the first year that an eight team finals system has been used in the Intrust Super Cup.
  • There have been 11 different premiers in the past 14 years – only Wynnum Manly, (2011 and 2012), Northern Pride (2010 and 2014) and Redcliffe (2006 and 2018) have won more than one in that time.
  • Coaches Adam Brideson and Jim Lenihan have clashed six times with Lenihan winning five and Brideson one.
  • Both team’s local A Grade feeder teams have won their grand finals – Wynnum 22-20 over Valleys in Brisbane, and Burleigh 30-12 over Southport on the Gold Coast.

Intrust Super Cup preliminary finals highlights: Blackhawks v Wynnum

Wynnum Manly Seagulls

  •  This is the Seagulls third grand final in their 24th season in the competition. They won both their previous grand final appearances – 16-10 over Tweed in 2011, and 20-10 over Redcliffe in 2012, both at Suncorp Stadium under coach Paul Green. A win would see them draw level with Burleigh on three premierships.
  • This is Wynnum’s 28th Cup final – the third most of any team behind Redcliffe (51) and Easts (41); they have won 13 and lost 15 of them; they lost four of their previous five before this season. They have performed better in finals away from home, having won five of 14 at Kougari Oval, but eight of 13 away from there.
  • Wynnum finished the regular season averaging 28.3 points per game in attack, third in the competition. They had the fourth best defensive record in the competition, conceding 15.7 points per game.
  • No Wynnum players have played in a Cup decider as was the case with PNG Hunters in 2017.
  • Five of Wynnum’s 26 games this year have been decided by six points or less - they won two and lost three. Their average winning margin this year has been 17 points. Their average losing margin has been six points.
  • Pat Templeman currently has 192 points for the season, equal to their club Cup record set by Damien Quinn in 2003.

Intrust Super Cup preliminary finals highlights: Bears v Falcons

Burleigh Bears

  •  This is the Bears sixth grand final, overtaking Easts to move to second most in Cup history behind Redcliffe (12). They have won three premierships, second behind Redcliffe (6).
  • Burleigh have three wins (12-10 v Redcliffe in 1999, 22-18 in extra time v Easts in 2004, and 26-16 v Redcliffe in 2016 all at Suncorp Stadium) and two losses (Redcliffe 31-18 at Dolphin Oval in 2003 and Young Guns 36-6 at Suncorp Stadium in 2005).
  • This is Burleigh’s 26th Cup finals match – the fourth most of any team. They have won 14 and lost 11.  This is their 10th finals series and third finals series in the past four years.
  • Seven Burleigh players of their named 17 have previous grand final experience: Kurtis Rowe, Sami Sauiluma, Jamal Fogarty, Luke Page, Pat Politoni and Hayden Schwass, who all played in their 2016 win. Blake Leary played for Northern Pride in their record 36-4 win over Easts in 2014.
  • Jamal Fogarty (50) is one of only 12 players to have scored 50 or more points in Cup finals. Damien Quinn has scored the most with 96.
  • Burleigh have lost six games this year – Sunshine Coast (twice), Townsville (twice), Redcliffe and Norths.
  • Six of Burleigh’s 25 games this year have been decided by six points or less - they won two and lost four. Burleigh’s average winning margin this year has been 23 points. Their average losing margin has been nine points.
Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners