You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

This year marks 74 years since the XXXX Foley Shield first kicked off.

It's a carnival with a long, impressive history in North Queensland and a competition that today still provides players with the chance to not only progress their own careers, but to represent their towns with pride.

Mackay, Townsville and Cairns will battle it out from Friday night - in both men's and women's draws - with Mackay the reigning champions.

Former player Ron Slater - the father of Queensland Maroons coach, Billy - played throughout the 1970s for Innisfail and then the feared Mount Isa team. He said it was a carnival that everyone wanted to be part of.

"That’s what you played for," Slater said of the XXXX Foley Shield.

"You had your club sides but you really wanted to make the Foley Shield side. It was prestigious.

"It was good football... very fierce competition."

Mackay, Townsville and Cairns will look to emulate that passion and fire this year, as the north unite to bring back the prestige of the Foley Shield.

Everything you need to know for the XXXX Foley Shield

Farrell: 'Thought it was a great idea'


Friday, April 29 until Sunday, May 1


Jack Manski Oval, Townsville


Friday, April 29

Time What Who Match officials
5.30pm Women's Townsville v Cairns Cameron Woods, Russell Bird, Sam Nosworthy
7pm Men's Townsville v Cairns Kurt Sheather, Andrew Edmonds, Sam Nosworthy

Saturday, April 30

Time What Who Match officials
2.30pm Women's Cairns v Mackay George Sailor, Sam Nosworthy, Alan Bain
4pm Men's Cairns v Mackay Guy Millar, Thomas Horne, Kurt Sheather

Sunday, May 1

Time What Who Match officials
12.30pm Women's Townsville v Mackay Alan Bain, George Sailor, Cameron Woods
2pm Men's Townsville v Mackay Josh Eaton, Thomas Horne, Guy Millar

The XXXX Foley Shield: 'It's not just a game'

The Queensland Rugby League would like to thank Chris Williams and Tony Price for providing footage and historical facts and photos for this year's coverage of the XXXX Foley Shield.

Team lists - Men's teams


1. Edene Gebbie, 2. Jesse Pomare Anderson, 3. John Cullen, 4. Jordan Remfrey, 5. Michael Carroll, 6. Ty Carruci, 7. Shaun Nona, 8. Sione Louisi, 9. Oscar Carter, 10. Jaimen Moore, 11. Jack Johnson, 12. Chippie Korostchuk, 13. Sam Murphy, 14. Curtis Dempsey, 15. Marcus Nona, 16. Jeremy Lameau, 17. Hamilton Taia, 18. Kaleb Vossiler, 19. Mitch Grimes, 20. Faron Morris, 21. Justin Frain, 22. Addo Waianga.

Coaches: Roy Baira and Matthew Bowen


1. Matthew Gibuma, 2. William Messa, 3. Patrick Lewis, 4. Daniel Woodhouse, 5. Nathaniel Tamwoy, 6. Aaron Jolley, 7. Eddie Daniels, 8. Matthew Bon, 9. Jacob Wallace, 10. Zak Bannister, 11. Taniela Ta'ufo'ou, 12. Tomasi Skelton, 13. Denzel King, 14. Zane Knowles, 15. Davin Crampton, 16. Minjuluk McInnes, 17. Lee Kennedy, 18. Lachlan Biondi-Odo, 20. Justin Tima, 23. Falcon Peni.

Coach: Jono Zangrande


(Alphabetical) Aidan Beard, Andrew Dunkley, Beau Dixon, Brett Kelly, Clint Broomham, Hayden Pace, Hep Cahill, Isaac Richardson, Isaiah Cooper-Tetevano, Ivan Petelo, Jake Hawkins, Jake Thornton, Jayden Batchelor, Jayden O'Shannessy, Luke Strasser, Maika Tudravu, Matolu Laumea, Matt Temby, Mitch Fogerty, Tate Brodel, Tyler Gardiner, Tyler Holmes.

Coach: Steve Jackson

Team lists - Women's teams


1. Mary-Jane Waia, 2. Lauren Sallis, 3. Stephanie Monday, 4. Martina Monday, 5. Jamaica Mairu, 6. Alisha Foord, 7. Angela Solomon, 8. Seini Palu-Shepperson, 9. Meg O'Brien, 10. Jacinta Maurangi, 11. Tamika Murdock, 12. Emma Woods, 13. Prue Peters, 14. Kristen Dempsey, 15. Emma Hannigan, 16. Maddison Hegarty, 17. Tahleah Bracko, 18. Niquita Peters, 19. Seraseini Sadrata, 20. Rachel Brcko, 21. Ina Tamwoy, 22. Lisa Wellington.

Coach: Josh Stowers


1. Ashlyn Skeene, 2. Natoya Con-Goo, 3. Ashleigh Sushames, 4. Tanisha Ahmat, 5. Mikaelah Carr, 6. Agnes Solomon, 7. Tess Hart, 8. Maegan Fourmile, 9. Etunia Suavai, 10. Stephanie Barns, 11. Michala Stephens, 12. Genavie Tabui, 13. Elianna Suluvale, 14. Priya Deshong, 15. Halia Pua, 16. Tallisia Riley Georgetown, 17. Jarketta Smith, 18. Francis Newman, 19. Shantelle Ale, 20. Kaiyla Ward.

Coach: John Buttigieg


(Alphabetical) Adele Ginns, Alycia Taylor-Hannson, Azmin Brice, Clarissa Baira, Deb Barchard, Imogen Healy, India Macphee, Isabella Bartolo, Jess Galea, Keegan Irelandes, Kerryn Wake, Marcella Campbell, Melody Tass, Mikaela Gee, Naomi Temby, Page Brodel, Sarah Ingledew, Tina Hancock, Tiomee Ramsamy, Vanique Malayta, Xanthe Topping, Zoe Aitken.


Where to watch

Subscribe and watch live through

Watch the XXXX Foley Shield men's games here.

Watch the XXXX Foley Shield women's games here.

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners