You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Experience counts for Sunshine Coast Falcons

While the Sunshine Coast have a new coach and will also be welcoming a number of fresh faces in season 2019; it was a familiar name and Intrust Super Cup competition veteran that was recently announced as the club’s best and fairest winner.

Read >> Sunshine Coast Falcons Year in Review

Falcons skipper Dane Hogan was unveiled as the club’s James Ackerman Medal winner at their event held at Brightwater Hotel in late September; a fitting acknowledgement for a player that has given some much to his club.

Hogan himself however had predicted second row forward Chris Lewis to take out the award; given his outstanding form all year.

Both have re-signed with the club and their experience will prove vital as the team looks to gel in preparation for the season ahead with several departures having been offset by some key new arrivals. 


Congratulations to Vantage Homes Falcons captain Dane Hogan who has taken out the 2018 James Ackerman medal for Falcons Intrust Super Cup Player of the Year!

Posted by SC Falcons on Thursday, 27 September 2018

It was one of the last formal engagements for outgoing coach Craig Ingebrigtsen with Eric Smith now at the helm of the club. Smith has previously coached the Melbourne Storm National Youth team based on the Sunshine Coast in 2016 & 2017.

Smith formally began his role in November and he and the club have been busy looking ahead to next season and have announced some major player recruitments.

As well as welcoming home Sunshine Coast junior and former Broncos-contracted half Todd Murphy from the Norths Devils; they have also looked further afield; signing up NQ talents in Nicho Hynes from the Mackay Cutters and Jonathon Reuben from the Townsville Blackhawks.

Other awards at the Sunshine Coast Falcons presentation night went to:

Intrust Super Cup Rookie of the Year: Caleb Daunt
Intrust Super Cup Best Forward: Chris Lewis
Intrust super Cup Best Back: Justin Olam
James Ackerman Medal (Intrust Super Cup Player of the Year): Dane Hogan
Hastings Deering Colts Best Back: Riley Moore
Hastings Deering Colts Best Forward: Damian Forde-Hurrell
Hastings Deering Colts Player of the Year: Stephen Buckley
Staff Member of the Year: Karen Jenkinson
Peter Boyce Award for Outstanding Club Spirit: Peter Shipley

More Intrust Super Cup club awards

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners